Reviews Ring Candles

Ice ‘N’ Fire Ring Candle Review

October 14, 2016
Ice 'N' Fire Ring Candle Review





As with many other products that originate in The United States, there were only a few options for those looking to get a ring candle if you lived in Canada. After they had been around for a year or so and proved they weren’t a trend that was dying anytime soon, a few companies decided to put their own spin on the products and open up shop in Canada.

Ice ‘N’ Fire Candles is one of these companies. They are 100% Canadian family owned and operated business located in Chilliwack, British Columbia.

Ice N Fire Ring Candle Review

Their ring candles come in great looking square glass containers and are double wicked, 100% eco soy wax candles. The rings that you unveil from inside the wax are valued from $25 – $5000 in their regular line, or $50 – $5000 in their ‘Sterling & Gold’ collection.

Today we have for review: ‘Bunch ‘O’ Berries’ and ‘Perfect Pumpkin Pie’ from the original collection and ‘White Waterfall’ in their wax melts.

On to the review!


Read More: Great Candles For Fall


Product Overview:

Wax Type: 100% high quality eco-soy wax
Size: Approximately 14 ounces in squared glass vessels
Price: $29.99 CAD for original candles, $49.99 CAD for sterling & gold collection
Surprise: Ring
Reveal Type: Enter the code attached to your ring on the Ice ‘N’ Fire appraisal page
Possible Jewelry Value: $25 – $5000 for original candles, $50 – $5000 for sterling & gold collection
Other Items Available: Fragrance oils, soaps (with rings), various tart warmers
Burn Time: Approximately 25 – 35 hours stated on the website

Ice 'N' Fire Package

Ice ‘N’ Fire Package

Review Rundown:

Is it Scent-sational?

Ice N Fire Perfect pumpkin pie

Perfect Pumpkin Pie – Yum this scent is just what’s needed for a fall candle craving and its title hits the nail on the head. The scent of this candle is the exact same as you get when taking a bite into a fresh pumpkin pie. That is basically all you need to know about this scent. If you love the smell of pumpkin pie then you will love the smell of this candle, period. It’s sugary, it’s sweet and it is scrumptious! 8.5/10

Ice n fire bunch o berries

Bunch ‘O’ Berries – Once again, the title of this candle sums up its scent nearly perfect. This scent is very fruity and I picked up on the blueberries and raspberries mostly. It has a nice citrus punch to it from its top notes that gives it a mouthwatering fragrance overall. This scent is not subtle with the berries and that is exactly what we liked about it. 7.5/10

white waterfall

White Waterfall – This scent is described as “juniper berry, vetiver, sandalwood and the essence of blue wildflowers among a base of water and ozone”. I found this scent to be a great combination of above. The vetiver and sandalwood are not overpowering the other notes and it creates a relaxing, calming scent. 8.5/10

Fragrance Intensity:

These candles are a little wider than most other jewelry candles and also have 2 wicks instead of one. I found that both of these variations helped the fragrance intensity on these candles. Both candles had a medium – high amount of fragrance throw both on cold sniff and while burning.

ice n fire ring candle review

Foil peeking out of the wax!

In small rooms, one of these candles would sufficiently fragrance the area and in larger rooms, you will still be able to smell one candle but two might be better depending on the actual room size. 8.5/10

Presentation:

I love what Ice ‘N’ Fire did with these candles to make them stand out from other jewelry candles on the market. The candles come in a thick, squared glass containers and have 2 wicks instead of 1 to ensure no tunneling.

ice n fire candles

The labels are transparent stickers with designs that give it more of a handmade/Etsy feel than some of the larger brands out there. The label isn’t perfect but it isn’t bad either. It also has a transparent diamond shape in the middle that shows the foil-wrapped jewelry piece inside the candle. 7.5/10


Read More: Candle Junkies: Luxury Candle Favorites






Ring Quality:

All of the rings that are found within Ice ‘N’ Fire candles will have a code attached to them which can be entered on their website appraisal page to find their exact value. The rings we had the chance of finding were all to be valued between $25 – $5000.

This is what we found:

Perfect Pumpkin Pie Candle – The ring that we found inside the pumpkin pie candle was valued at $70 and was said to be .925 Sterling Silver with a round cut cubic zirconia stone. We loved the thing band and the ring looked great!

sterling silver cubic zirconia ringice-n-fire-ring-reveal

Ice N Fire .925 Sterling Silver Round Cut CZ Ring

Ice N Fire .925 Sterling Silver Round Cut CZ Ring

Bunch ‘O’ Berries Candle – Inside the bunch ‘o’ berries candle was a blue ring that matched the candle! Haha. It was a White Gold plated round-cut blue cubic zirconia ring that was valued at $75. So sparkly!

ice n fire white gold cubic zirconia ring

White Gold Plated Round Blue CZ Ring

White Gold Plated Round Blue CZ Ring

White Waterfall Wax Melt – Inside the wax melt we found a sterling silver ring with a bright red stone. It is said to be a .925 Sterling Silver, 2.5ct red ruby Princess Diana replica ring. They valued it at $200! (I am not a jeweler so I can’t verify this claim but that is what the appraisal page said)

Ice 'N' Fire .925 Sterling Silver 2.5ct Red Ruby Princess Diana Replica Ringred ruby ring

Burn Quality and Longevity:

While overall I find that candles with multiple wicks are better, it is a bit of a double-edged sword feature. The burn quality on these candles is phenomenal. The two wicks allow a full wax melt pool to form quickly from first light to the last.

The downside is that the two wicks also burn through this wax much, MUCH quicker. These are slightly smaller candles to begin with in terms of the amount of wax in them so that doesn’t bode well for its longevity. The burn time on these candles came to around 35 hours while the traditional jewelry candle jars with single wicks last forever, some even going up over 130 hours! With that said, these do last a bit longer than the 3 wick candles from Bath and Body Works, so if you are used to those burn times this will be nothing shocking. It does, in my opinion, bump the value down a notch when you are going through candles that quickly. 9/10

ice-n-fire-pumpkin-pie-review

Scent Variety:

Ice ‘N’ Fire does not have a huge selection of scents to choose from but neither do any of the other solely Canadian based ring candle companies. I believe this is because the market here is smaller and so it does not make economical sense to produce as many different scents. The total number of scents, including a scent-free candle, is 8 while the other big Canadian brand ‘Charmed Aroma’ has around 10. If you want more variety in scents to pick from you may have to go with one of the American companies, but it will cost you more because of the shipping and current currency differences.


Read More: Unique Candles That Make Wonderful Gifts For This Holidays


Price:

The regular ring candles from Ice ‘N’ Fire will cost you $29.99 CAD while the ‘Sterling & Gold Collection’ cost $49.99 a piece. These prices may seem a little high at first but when you also take into account that the shipping on orders under $50 is only $10 CAD as opposed to the $20 USD+ from the American companies it becomes a whole lot better. If you are a Canadian or located in Canada, the companies that are based out of here will always be your cheapest option. This makes Ice ‘N’ Fire one of, if not THE BEST choice for getting a ring candle in Canada on price alone.

Ice 'N' Fire Ring Candle Review
9.3 Overall
10 Users (1 vote)
Pros

- Overall they are great looking candles
- Zero tunneling
- Jewelry looks nice, while appraisal is simple

Cons

- You burn through the wax so quickly

Summary

Ice 'N' Fire is one of the best options for Canadians looking to buy a ring candle. Period. While not as much variety as some, the candles themselves are some of the best.

Presentation
Fragrance Intensity
Ring/Jewelry Quality
Candle Performance
Scent Variety
Price
Jewelry Customization
What people say... 1 Leave your rating
Review
As I am a consultant for Ice N Fire it is nice to have this review to compare to.nice to know we are the best bang for your dollar
October 15, 2016, 3:24 am
4
10
Leave your rating






JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER
Get all of our latest posts along with exclusive chances at our candle giveaways and coupon codes!
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

You Might Also Like

4 Comments

  • Reply Bernadette January 20, 2017 at 5:35 am

    You really believe that you buy a candle for 30.00 and get a ring (that they themselves set the appraisal at) valued at 25.00 or more?? Sounds like a gimmick to me.

    • Reply The Candle Junkies February 2, 2017 at 8:23 pm

      Hey Bernadette, thanks for the comment.

      $25 value doesn’t mean that is what this company paid for them. When a ring candle company buys jewelry in bulk, typically they will get a deal on the jewelry and that $25 piece will now cost them a lot less. Then you get a nice candle on top of that with a chance at rarer high-value pieces.

  • Reply Jessica March 8, 2017 at 1:25 pm

    Excellent review! If I may, I have some observations / comments that can complement your review.

    I have purchased candles from both Charmed Aroma and Ice N’ Fire. Both rings I got were claimed to be of 925 silver. I have tested the ring for metal content and they are indeed made of silver (.925 or higher). Even though I prefer the scent and fragrance intensity of the Ice N’ Fire candles, I have noticed two differences ring wise:

    1- The charmed aroma ring lost one of its stones after one day of wear. I verified both rings under a microscope the stones and how solid they were. The Ice N’ Fire ring had none loose stones as the Charmed Aroma ring had 2-3 other stones loose that eventually fell off (so disappointed because the ring was gorgeous!). KUDO to Charmed Aroma, I have mentioned this problem and they sent me a replacement ring.
    2-As for the estimated value, I got a 200$ valued ring with Charmed Aroma and a 100$ ring with Ice N’ Fire. I have to admit, after having a very close look at the rings, quality wise I think Charmed Aroma are “inflating” their ring value. As for Ice N’ Fire, the value resemble more what you would actually pay in a jewelry store.

    Of course, if you want to pay very little for a silver ring with CZ stones, you can always buy on Groupon which shows rings sold around 25$ or so and look pretty similar to the rings found in the candles. The quality of the rings will be probably equivalent. But as you mentioned, buying those types of candles if for:
    1- the pleasure of having a nice candle at home (so relaxing!)
    2- play a little bit at “jewelry lottery” because you could indeed get a very nice ring .

    Have a great day!

    • Reply The Candle Junkies March 9, 2017 at 9:31 pm

      Hey, Jessica! Thanks for stopping by and leaving this in-depth comment!

      I think some brands aren’t necessarily ‘inflating’ ring value, just that they go off the jewelry providers MSRP, which is still often much higher than what you will see in a store.

    Leave a Reply